Mandatory Sweetness

It has been a while. When school piles up, even some of the things I love most must be put to the side. But today I just finished two tests, and with no classes tomorrow, I feel like I ought to do some celebrating. Hence, talk about food and play around with photographs of it.

Over the past month I have made a couple desserts that had me grin with glee. If you’ve never felt or grinned with giddy gleefulness after having made something which turned out exceptionally well, I am sorry.

About a month ago, I made a Strawberry Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake during spring break; one for the family and one for church the next day. (Fortunately it was the already half-eaten cake and not the one for church that unlatched from its spring, bottom slipping out, landing top-side-down on the kitchen floor. But we won’t go there.)

Before decoration

Before decoration

After Decoration

After Decoration

Decorating. I can’t enjoy something unless the looks match the taste. SAM_4793

SAM_4775 Seriously. Homemade strawberry and chocolate sauce are to die for.

SAM_4778

This is one of those desserts that you take one piece…and then it’s gone so you take another…and then it’s gone so you take another… and then the whole cheesecake is gone and you feel sick and ten pounds heavier but you still want another.

 

The second dessert also involved fruit; and chocolate.
I ended up with two cakes, 4 layers each.
~2 layers of a dark chocolate eggless  cake~1 thick layer of flourless chocolate cake (basically a layer of fudge)
~1 layer gooey raspberry chocolate filling

The best ideas are those that pop out and land in front of your very mouth.

The best ideas are those that pop out and land in front of your very mouth.

2 bags of chocolate chips+3 sticks of butter+1 jar raspberry jam+7 eggs+1 carton of raspberries= the most expensive cake ever. So I decided not to record the recipe. Plus it took forever to make. But since it was for Easter, a resurrection celebration definitely calls for some splurging.P1430826

P1430822

Leave a comment