Green and Happy

I have a problem with always wanting to eat. I know. I don’t need to be concerned about it, but since I’m always eating, I don’t want to eat just anything. While talking with a friend today, she mentioned kale chips to m. I’m not a kale fan, but spinach? YES. Spinach chips. Anyone can make them.

P1430104 P1430106

Spinach Chips

2 cups fresh baby spinach

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

Salt, cayenne pepper, cumin, coriander seed to taste

Wash spinach and pat it dry. Place it in a bowl and coat with the oil. I just shook the bowl until the oil was evenly coating each spinach leaf. Mix together all your spices, and feel free to try different assortments! Sprinkle on the leaves, and toss, making sure the spices stick to each leaf.  Spread the leaves out on a greased baking sheet with no pieces over-lapping. Sprinkle the garlic on the leaves. Bake at 320 degrees Fahrenheit for about 13 minutes. I’m warning you—the smell is­ irresistible. You will find yourself helplessly pulled to the oven door, sniffing inhumanly just waiting for the beep to come. (And if you’re like me, you’ll try one even before they are completely done.) Make sure you let them cook long enough. P1430114

All the moisture has to be cooked out of them, hence they should be stiff and brittle. Okay. Once these are out of the oven, (try to let them cool first), it’s a few minutes of all-self-control-is-gone from here out. The aroma you couldn’t resist earlier wasn’t deceiving. I literally would have eaten all of them–a.k.a a half a container of spinach–if I hadn’t had sisters who joined me in the devouring.  If you like spinach, now you will love spinach. If you don’t like spinach, now you will love spinach. The only downside? They are small and your grocery bill might go up…a lot.P1430118P1430112

Leave a Reply

